Cliffe Dekker Hofmeyr Bursary 2023

About Cliffe Dekker Hofmeyr

Cliffe Dekker Hofmeyr is a South African law firm with almost 160 years history. It has more than 110 directors and more than 250 professionals in total with offices in Johannesburg and Cape Town. CDH clients include local, national and international companies from different sectors including public sector organisations. The firm offers a range of corporate and commercial legal services across different practice areas such as competition, dispute resolution, employment, environmental, banking and finance, pro bono and human rights, projects and infrastructure, real estate, tax, technology and sourcing as well as trusts and estates.

Cliffe Dekker Hofmeyr Bursaries

Cliffe Dekker Hofmeyr awards a number of bursaries to law students which include the Cliffe Dekker Hofmeyr bursaries for both undergraduate and postgraduate applicants and the Tim Mills Memorial bursaries exclusively for LLM applicants.

Both bursaries are considered based on applicants’ academic excellence, excellence in any other relevant fields and financial need. The bursary schemes cover university/tuition fees to a maximum total amount of R25 000 per student for the duration of the studies.

The Tim Mills Memorial Bursary for LLM students was founded in 2013, in memory of Tim Mills, who was a former director of Cliffe Dekker Hofmeyr. This bursary is awarded to applicants who wish to pursue an LLM degree at a South African university.

Bursary holders will be required to provide updated and complete academic progress reports, attend one of the Cliffe Dekker Hofmeyr vacation programmes and agree to a right of first refusal with regard to articles of clerkship.

Bursary Requirements and Eligibility

Cliffe Dekker Hofmeyr Bursary:

  • Citizen or a permanent resident of South Africa
  • Enrolled as a full-time student for an LLB degree at a South African university (at undergraduate or postgraduate level)

Tim Mills Memorial Bursary:

  • Citizen or a permanent resident of South Africa
  • Completion of an LLB degree at a South Africa University
  • Registered students for LLM studies at a South African University

How to Apply and Application Details

Cliffe Dekker Hofmeyr Bursary Application Process:

Applications must be done online by clicking here. You will be required to register an account before you can log in and apply.

Submit clear copies of the following supporting documentation along with your online application:

  • Cover/motivation letter
  • Detailed Curriculum vitae
  • Certified Copy of valid South African ID
  • Certified Grade 12 (matric) results
  • Certified University academic records

Tim Mills Memorial Bursary Application Process

  1. Download and complete the Tim Mills Memorial Bursary Application Form. (pdf)
  2. Accompany your application form with certified copies of the following documents:
    • Detailed curriculum vitae
    • Valid South African ID
    • Complete academic transcript
    • Degree Certificate (if applicable)
    • Grade 12 (matric) certificate
    • Detailed LLM studies proposal
    • LLM tuition fees statement
    • Reference letter
    • A cover letter that includes:
      • Things that matter to you
      • The quality of your application and the reason why you should be awarded the Tim Mills Memorial Bursary
      • Any other information that will highlight and give emphasis to your competence
  3. Send complete applications through either of the following methods:
      • Post: Private Bag X40, Benmore, 2010, South Africa
      • Fax: +27 (0)11 562 1111
      • Email: [email protected]
      • Post: PO Box 695, Cape Town, 8000, South Africa
      • Fax: +27 (0)21 481 6388
      • Email: [email protected]

Closing Date

 1 September 2020 

Contact Details

Johannesburg (Sandton)
Attention: Boipelo Mathodlana
Post: Private Bag X40 Benmore 2010
Email: [email protected] / [email protected]
Fax: +27 (0) 11 562 1111
Tel: +27 (0)11 562 1000

Cape Town
Attention: Claudine Primo
Post: PO Box 695 Cape Town 8000
Email: [email protected] / [email protected]
Fax: +27 (0)21 481 6507
Tel: +27 (0)21 481 6300